By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Morrison sweeps tournament
Holder leads Eagles past Dibrell
The 7-8 grade Morrison Ruritan Tournament winners are the Morrison Eagles. Pictured, front row, from left, are Lorenzo Hernandez, Kolby Newby, Hunter Musgrove (all-tournament), Dominique Betancourt (all-tournament), Tyler Dunn, Buddy Hillis, Brayden Hollis and Parker Yates. Second row, Dawson Waldron, Curtlan George, Kason Holder (MVP), head coach Kyle Cannon, Ryland Holder (all-tournament), Will Hyder and Kaden Desmarais.
The Morrison Eagles ended the tournament bearing their name in first place Saturday, defeating the Dibrell Wildcats, 45-24, and delighting the home crowd.Eagle Kason Holder, who won MVP in the Morrison Ruritan three-day tournament, scored a game-high 28 points to lead the Eagle offense that was up 27-14 going into halftime. Morrison was able to keep its drive going in all four quarters, pounding the boards while effectively shutting down any Dibrell response forcing them to take the long shot.“Dibrell had a good game plan,” said Morrison head coach Kyle Cannon. “We played aggressive defense and rebounded well.