By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Woodruff DAREs to write great essay
Program teaches students dangers of drugs, alcohol
Hannah Woodruff accepts the DARE essay award from school resource officer Jarvis Johnson during DARE graduation ceremonies this past week. Hannah was joined by her fellow graduates from West Elementary.

Teaching children to make the right life choices and to stay away from substances that can hurt them, the DARE program at West Elementary graduated its newest class of fifth-graders last week in ceremonies at McMinnville Civic Center.
“I’ve been blessed to teach these students how to make good and responsible decisions,” said West Elementary school resource officer Jarvis Johnson, speaking before a room full of students, teachers and parents.
DARE, or Drug Abuse Resistance Education, is taught in elementary schools and is aimed at preparing students for times ahead when they may be tempted by drugs or alcohol. It is also designed to help students make good life decisions while at the same time familiarizing them with law enforcement since the classes are generally taught by policemen or deputies.
Johnson has been in law enforcement for the better part of two decades. The DARE program is a 10-week course.
“I want to teach you how to be good citizens,” Johnson said in his remarks at graduation Thursday. “I want you to set an example for the younger students.”
Students were called up individually by their teachers and given their certificates while receiving a hearty round of applause.
Along with receiving a certificate for their completion of the course, a contest was held and the top students were cited for their achievement. Winning special recognition were Amy Castillo, Brianna Kemp, Jayla Bigham, Dy’Kori More, Trinity Murray, Emily Soto, Zaira Gonzales, Alex Worden and Katie Hutchins. In addition to the achievement award, Worden was also given the Citizenship Award for best representing the DARE values.
Winning the DARE essay award for best essay was Hannah Woodruff.