By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sherrell elected floor leader
Paul Sherrell.jpg
State Rep. Paul Sherrell has been elected Republican Floor Leader, the fifth-ranking officer in the Tennessee House Republican Caucus. Sherrell represents roughly two-thirds of Warren County in the 43rd District.

State Rep. Paul Sherrell is moving up the ranks in the Tennessee House of Representatives.

Sherrell (R-Sparta) has been elected by his peers to serve as Republican Floor Leader for the upcoming 111th Tennessee General Assembly.

As Republican Floor Leader, Sherrell is the fifth ranking officer in the House Republican Caucus. His duties include working toward passage of all administrative bills approved by the Republican Bill Review Committee, as well as any legislation initiated by the House Republican Caucus.

Sherrell will also supervise the assistant floor leader and serve as coordinator of the Candidate Recruitment and Development Committee.

“I am grateful for the support and trust my colleagues have placed in me to serve as their Republican Floor Leader,” said Sherrell. 

“Tennessee is thriving under conservative leadership and I am excited to work with our new governor, our newly elected caucus leaders, and our membership to uphold the values and beliefs that matter most to our citizens.”

Sherrell was elected in resounding fashion to his second term in November. He gained 71.6 percent of the overall vote. He serves the 43rd District, which includes roughly two-thirds of Warren County and all of White and Grundy counties.

“Paul Sherrell is an extraordinary legislative leader who is admired and respected by his Republican colleagues,” said House Majority Leader William Lamberth (R-Cottontown). “I appreciate his dedication and service to his community and to our state, and I look forward to working with him so we can continue to build upon Tennessee’s remarkable success.”

The 111th General Assembly convenes Jan. 8, 2019. All members will be sworn into office at noon.