By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School Board honored by state
School Board chair Helen Martin accepts the Board of Distinction award from Tennessee School Board district director Brett Henley. The local Board of Education was one of the few in the state to achieve the honor which requires clearing numerous hurdles, including setting a five-year-plan, updating policy manuals, and professional development of board members themselves.

The Warren County Board of Education was conferred a lofty honor this past week as it was named a Board of Distinction by the Tennessee School Board Association.
“Your board is among the select few,” revealed TSBA district director Brett Henley in presenting the award at the School Board meeting Thursday night. “This award celebrates the achievements of this board.”
Accepting the award on behalf of the entire board, chair Helen Martin thanked the director for the honor, noting the work the board does is for the students of Warren County and to make a brighter future for education here.
Henley pointed out there are a number of hurdles to clear in order for a School Board to even be considered as a Board of Distinction, hurdles most school systems do not clear.
“Developing a five-year plan is one,” said Henley, noting the Warren County board has produced such a plan to ensure the local school system’s progress. The School Board is presently working with committees of teachers, parents and concerned citizens to come up with its next strategic plan that will go forward for five years or more.
Henley said regular policy manual updates are required to qualify for the award. So is professional development of School Board members.
“This board has completed all these requirements, thereby qualifying it to be a board of achievement,” Henley said.
Included on the board are Director of Schools Bobby Cox, Linda Blair, James Bennett, Tanya Bess, Bill Zechman, Teddy Jones and chair Helen Martin.