By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Outstanding cadets honored at JROTC banquet
JROTC Award Ceremony1.jpg
Cadet Jessica Robinson was awarded Color Guard Member of the Year at last week’s JROTC Award Ceremony. Pictured is Robinson shaking hands with Tucker Cantrell, who presented the plaque. - photo by Lacy Garrison

Warren County High School’s Junior ROTC program held its awards ceremony last Thursday night, honoring cadets for the 2018-19 school year. 

Cadet Challenge Awards were presented to: Alyricah Baker, Gavin Bouldin, Brittney Brannam, Brianna Carr, Olivia Chmielewski, Nathan Holmstrom, Taryn Holmstrom, Nathan Jennings, Bryan Jones, Victoria Looper, Ania Mendoza, Montana Odom, Jessica Robinson, Abagial Smith, Jocylen Smith, Ariel Walker and Jesus Zuniga.

Each new Raider was awarded the JROTC Adventure Training Ribbon and the Varsity Athletic Ribbon for participating in Raider physical training every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 6 a.m., after school, and attending Raider meets:

• First: Brittney Brannam, Madison Goolsby, Antonio Hernandez, River Jones, Ania Mendoza, Lucas Pescevic, Jessica Robinson, Erick Soria and Thomas Turpin.

• Second: Garrett Byars, Brianna Carr, Olivia Chmielewski, Derek Edwards, Juan Garcia, Faith Hasty, Taryn Holmstrom, Jeremiah Holt, Nathan Jennings, Noah Meurer, Gabriel Rudicel and Ariel Walker.

• Third: Alex Alarcon, Nathan Holmstrom, Victoria Looper, Dustin Miller, Owen Mills and Montana Odom.

The Raider Team of the Year Awards:

• First: Male Raider Team -- Nathan Holmstrom and Montana Odom; and Lady Raider Team -- Victoria Looper and Taryn Holmstrom.

• Second: Thomas Turpin and Lucas Pescevic; and Faith Hasty and Ania Mendoza.

• Third: Erick Soria and Antonio Hernandez.

Drill Team Robbins:

• First: Brittney Brannam, Faith Hasty, Abigail Hobbs, Nathan Jennings, Destiny Kloosterman, Brooklyn Madewell, Ania Mendoza, Thomas Myers, Daniel Norrod, Jessica Robinson, Austin Semrow, Melody Southworth, Faith Stovall and Thomas Turpin.

• Second: Garrett Byars, Timothy Cantrell, Brianna Carr, Jeremiah Holt, Jacob Miller, Gabriel Rudicel and Ariel Walker.

• Third: Nathan Holmstrom, Montana Odom and Jesus Zuniga.

• Fourth: Jaylen Bouldin, Fate Dixon and Derek Edwards.

Earning the Drill Team ARC and Cord: Timothy Cantrell, Brittney Brannam, Antonio Hernandez, Ania Mendoza and Thomas Turpin.

Color Guard ARC, Cord and Ribbon: Alyricah Baker, Brianna Carr, Chanler Barton, Sara Dean, Fate Dixon, Derek Edwards, Conner Hutchison, Kimberly McBride, Daniel Norrod, Gabriel Rudicel, Austin Semrow and Jocylen Smith.

The Academic Achievement Ribbon and Wreath presentations were also announced. Forty-four cadets earned a 3.0 GPA or higher. Earning the highest GPA in each LET level: LET-1 Lucas Pescevis 3.8, LET-2 Ariel Walker 4.0, LET-3 Victoria Looper 3.9, and LET-4 Fate Dixon 3.6. 

Superior Cadet Awards were presented to freshmen Lucas Pescevic and Abigail Hobbs, sophomores Nathan Jennings and Ariel Walker, juniors Nathan Holmstrom and Victoria Looper, and seniors Tucker Cantrell and Ranulfa Maldonado.

The Katy McKelvey Memorial Award was presented to Jessica Robinson.

Rounding out the other winners:

•Rifle Team Marksmanship awards were presented to: Sean Connolly, Derek Edwards, Hunter Fults, Madison Hobbs and Ariel Walker.

• Antonio Hernandez received 1SG’s Rock Club for completing 5,000 witnessed push-ups since the start of the school year.