By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Future farmers honored for ag skills
Placeholder Image

The Warren County Chapter of Future Farmers of America held a banquet last week to honor and award members for their hard work and dedication throughout the 2013-14 school year.
Attendees were treated to a meal in the high school’s cafeteria catered by Prater’s BBQ before moving to the auditorium for the presentation of awards.
Guests got a sense of how disciplined FFA members are during the banquet. FFA president Mindy King called the meeting to order followed by an invocation from 2012-13 president Laura Palomo.
A check for $600 was presented to Tennessee State FFA treasurer Colton McClanahan to be used for diabetes research. FFA members raised money for diabetes research by selling T-shirts, sodas, chips and juvenile diabetes ribbons during Ag Day which was held in the fall.
Juvenile diabetes was chosen by Tennessee FFA Chapters as their service project for the year. McClanahan said the club doubled its goal of raising $2,500 for Juvenile Diabetes research as $5,000 was raised by Tennessee FFA students for the cause.
Spenser Hill was unable to attend but was awarded an honorary FFA degree. Hill is an FFA member who has been diagnosed with leukemia. FFA members spearheaded a benefit concert for Hill in April which raised money to help with his medical expenses.
Farm Bureau manager Jeff Flatt presented three college scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each to Mindy King, Lucas Patterson and Katelynn Cammack.
Outstanding Members of the Year awards were presented to Peyton Griffith and J. Drew Lawson. Karrington Tanner and Elijah Holder were named Junior Outstanding Members. Marlie Montandon and Austin Barry were honored as sophomore Outstanding Members. Freshmen Outstanding Members were Samantha Bell and Matt Carter. Members of the Year were Erin Cantrell and Neil Matheney.
Students awarded proficiencies included Katelynn Cammack, second in Middle Tennessee for Fruit Production; Lucas Patterson, third in Middle Tennessee for Outdoor Recreation; and Trevor Vaughn, second in Middle Tennessee for Diversified Agriculture.
Teachers David Upton, Kim Miller, Shannon Ford and Danielle Smith presented various class awards.
Upton presented awards in greenhouse management, turf grass management, wildlife management and plant biotechnology.
Miller presented awards in livestock management.
Ford presented awards in small animal care, horse science and veterinary science.
Smith awarded students outstanding work in agriscience. She also presented awards to students who worked as hydroponic greenhouse managers and senior hydroponic greenhouse managers.
 Top fundraisers for the year were:
 • First Place: Austin Barry
 • Second Place: Mindy King
 • Third Place: Derek Crouch
 • Fourth Place: Lucas Young
 • Fifth Place: Nate Baker
Other awards presented included:
 • Chapter Star Greenhand: Erin Cantrell
 • Chapter Star in Agribusiness: Lucas Patterson
 • Chapter Star in Agricultural Placement: Katelynn Cammack
 • Chapter Star in Agriscience: Mindy King
 District award winners included:
 • Mindy King – second place Job Interview
 • Martin Grissom – second place Extemporaneous Speaking
 • Mitchell Woodlee – fourth place Prepared Speaking
 • Samantha Bell – fourth place Creed Speaking
 Judging teams were given to the following judging teams which placed in Middle Tennessee competition:
• Dairy – 2nd
• Nursery and Landscape – 6th
 • Floriculture – 8th
 • Livestock – 9th
 The chapter was named the Top Fruit Selling Chapter in Tennessee; was ranked second Chapter in the District and was ranked 13th Chapter in Middle Tennessee Region.
Warren County FFA officers for the 2013-14 year were Mindy King, president; Nate Baker, vice president; Martin Grissom, secretary; Mariana Ruiz, treasurer; Katelynn Cammack, reporter; and Lucas Patterson, sentinel.