Burning permits for outdoor burning of woody debris are now required. The requirement began Monday as Tennessee’s fall wildfire season begins. The permit season will not end until May 16, 2013.
This wildfire season follows a record-breaking drought across the state during which crops withered in the fields and vegetation dried to tinderbox conditions causing some counties to initiate outdoor burning restrictions in a cooperative effort with the Tennessee Department of Agriculture.
The permits issued by the Tennessee Department of Agriculture, Division of Forestry are for the sole purpose of burning untreated wood waste or woody vegetation grown on-site such as branches, leaves and brush. Permits for burning areas larger than eight feet by eight feet must be secured by telephone, while permits for debris piles eight feet by eight feet and smaller can be secured either online at www.burnsafetn.org, or by telephone.
All permits are free of charge. Telephone permits may be secured from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday. No household garbage, treated wood, tires, plastics, newspapers, cardboard, or other such materials may be burned as it is illegal to do so in the state.
Violation of the burning permit statute is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/ or a $50 fine plus court costs. The burning permit program administered by the Department of Agriculture does not supersede any existing burning programs administered by cities or communities which have their own outdoor burning statutes.
For more information on burning permits in Warren County, call 931-635-2754.