By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Ramirez keeps on truckin'
Jeff Chisam throw a ball to second base for a force out during Newtown softball action against Sina Neal on Wednesday night. Chisam and Ramirez Trucking won the game, 17-13.

On Wednesday night at Newtown ballfield, Ramirez Trucking took on Sina Neal in the first game of the night from the winner’s bracket.
It was a back-and-forth struggle throughout as the game went into the final inning with Sina Neal leading 13-12, but Ramirez Trucking used a five-run inning in its final at-bat to win the game, 17-13.
Ramirez was led at the plate in the victory by Jared Underwood, who was 3-for-3. Beau Lowe and Josh Winfree added three hits, while Linsey Youngblood, Omar Benitez, Lizzie Underwood and Houston Youngblood contributed two hits apiece.
In the top of the first, Sina Neal got on the board first thanks to an RBI single by Hazzy Marias to give it the one-run lead, 1-0.
Ramirez Trucking answered in the bottom of the inning with two runs to take the lead courtesy of Lowe’s 2-RBI double, 2-1, after one.
Ramirez Trucking extended its lead to three in the bottom of the second with two more runs on the board thanks to Linsey Youngblood’s 2-RBI single, 4-1.
Sina Neal answered back and regained the lead in the top of the third thanks to four runs crossing the plate, 5-4.
The game continued to be a back-and-forth contest in the bottom of the inning, when Ramirez Trucking retook the lead thanks to a 3-RBI double by Perry Reed and a RBI single by Worm Smith, 8-5, after three.
Sina Neal put up two runs in the top half of the fourth and Ramirez Trucking put up four in the bottom of the inning, to continue to hold the lead, 12-7.
Both teams failed to score in the fourth and after Sina Neal scored a combined six runs in the final two innings, to take the lead, 13-12. Ramirez Trucking was down to its final at-bat.
Ramirez Trucking scored five runs in the bottom of the inning to shock Sina Neal and advance in the winner’s bracket, 17-13.