By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Morrison downs Dibrell for title
Morrison - Isaiah Robledo.jpg
Morrison point guard Isaiah Robledo led the Eagles to a close victory over Dibrell. Robledo was voted MVP of the tournament. - photo by Taylor Moore
Morrison celebrate.jpg
Morrison Eagles Luke Saldana, left, and Bradan Haggins celebrate the close victory to capture the championship in the 7-8 County Basketball Tournament on Friday night. - photo by Taylor Moore

The Morrison Eagles won the 7-8 County Basketball Championship on Friday, beating out the Dibrell Wildcats in an absolute thriller, 38-35. 

Dibrell beat Morrison in the preseason tournament and the Eagles’ revenge brewed for the whole season until they beat the Wildcats in a doubleheader last week to cap the regular season. 

The tournament championship was a tense battle for the top prize as both teams were highly feared and hungry for the title. Tournament MVP Isaiah Robledo led the Eagles with 16 points.

“I feel like we accomplished a lot tonight,” said Robledo. He admitted the Eagles were down after losing to the Wildcats in the preseason tournament and added, “But we practiced and beat them in the doubleheader and beat them tonight.”

Dibrell towering post Chance Whitlock scored a game-high 19 points for the Wildcats, making the championship one of the best games of the season.

The first half looked like it would be a runaway win for Morrison as Isaiah and Kristopher Robledo and Braxton Gibbs dominated. The Eagles scored 17 points in the first quarter while holding the Wildcats to 6.

As luck would have it, Isaiah scored all 3 points for Morrison in the third quarter, and Whitlock went on a roll under the basket for Dibrell allowing the Wildcats to catch up.

In one of the most tense fourth quarters of the season, Lee-Allen Esparza got hot with steals and layups for Dibrell where the Wildcats evened the score 33-33 with just under 2 minutes left. 

Bradan Haggins of Morrison made two 3-pointers in the fourth quarter that were crucial to the Eagles winning the title.

In the boys consolation bracket, Irving College captured a win to place third.

MORRISON – Isaiah Robledo 16, Kristopher Robledo 9, Bradan Haggins 8, Braxton Gibbs 5

DIBRELL – Chance Whitlock 19, Lee-Allen Esparza 10, Kobe Brand 3, Syler Simmons 2, Jace Matheney 1