By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Hopefuls try for spot on WCMS baseball team
WCMS Pioneer baseball tryouts students line up WEB
Students line up at the Warren County Middle School baseball field on Saturday as they bid for a spot on the 2018 Pioneer team.

With the 2017 Central Tennessee Conference championship now in the rearview mirror, the Warren County Middle School baseball team took its first stride into the 2018 school year as 25 prospective players tried their hand at catching, throwing and hitting Saturday in an effort to make the team.
Twenty students made the first cut Saturday with a second tryout to be held sometime after the start of the school year to round out the roster. Starting positions are wide open as 15 eighth-graders from last year have advanced to the WCHS freshman team.
“I look forward to another year of baseball,” said WCMS head coach Chad Young. “Our tryouts went great and we saw a lot of players with great potential. Everybody is going to be fighting for positions and may the best player win. I want to build a team of players that are disciplined, humble, respectful, aggressive and ready to play hard-nose baseball.”
“Coach Chase McGee and coach Travis Wilson are back for another year and I really appreciate their dedication,” Young said. “I can’t say enough about these guys. They are great coaches, leaders and mentors to these young men.”
Making the first cut are Jathan Bogle, J.J. Jacobs, Wesley Sherrell, Kenyon Reno, Nathan Bond, Logan Earls, Kaden Coats, Kendall Patrick, Sawyer Seymour, Jax King, Curtlan George, Layne Roberts, Kyle Johnson, Jake Rains, Cooper Thurman, Ashton Forth, Will Vance, Chance Hunter, True Craven and Briley Moore.
Former WCMS players who helped the Pioneers with the CTC championship last year are Braden Bottoms, Ben Rivers, Jace Brantley, Bryson Elrod, Kason Holder, Ryland Holder, Omari Harris, Alec Hobbs, Omari Harris, John Garrett, Dawson Waldron, Westen Wilson, Wyatt Wilson, Ty Martin and Gage Smith.