By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Hawks soar to championship
Elementary champ - Case and Dakota.jpg
Hickory Creek’s Case Simpson, left, and Irving College’s Dakota Lockeny go after the ball. The Hawks made a big run in the second half to win the District 1 preseason championship. - photo by Taylor Moore

The Hickory Creek Hawks completed a sweep of the District 1 preseason tournament  by taking down Irving College 30-18 Thursday. It took a big second-half rally to win, but both Hickory Creek teams were able to leave Bobby Ray gym with trophies.

The game didn’t start out with a Hawks soaring as Irving College led 16-10 by halftime.

The Tigers started strong with Eastlan Green engineering their offense. He scored half the Tigers’ points in the first quarter and the majority of them in the second. Mikey Fults was backing it up by blocking many shots on the other end.

The Hawks and Tigers were even in the first quarter at 8-8, but the Tigers exploded in the second quarter. Irving College held Hickory Creek to just one bucket in the second quarter, giving them an going into the second half.

However, similar to the Lady Hawks, the Hickory Creek boys finsished tremendously. The Hawks put up 10  points in each of the final two quarter, with Aiden Van Vuuren controlled the ball for much of the second half. He had eight points while leading the comeback.

Liam Warden continued this momentum connecting on a pair of buckets in teh fourth. Lawson Denning, the team's go-to scorer throughout the night while finishing with a team-high 10 points, also got on the board late. Not only was the offense of Hickory Creek great, but the defense secured the win.

The Hawks kept the Tigers allowed just two points in the second half, with Fults geting a layup in the third. Hickory Creek held Irving College scoreless in the fourth,  allowing the team to run away in the championship. 


Lawson Denning 10, Aiden Van Vuuren 8, Liam Warden 6, Case Simpson, Bowman Stotts 2, Colton Todd 2


Eastlan Green 10, Mikey Fults 6, Drayden Cantrell 2