By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Final farewell
The freshmen football players honored were, from left, Mark Bouldin (offensive MVP), Dayton Jernigan (defensive MVP) Mason Thaxton (Freshman of the year) and Braylon Grayson (Team MVP).
The varsity players honored were, from left, Stephen Curtis (special teams MVP), Cristian Espinoza (defensive lineman of the year), Eli Buchanan (Pioneer of the year), CJ Taylor (Team MVP), Noah Martin (Defensive MVP), Dillon Haley (offensive lineman of the year), Lacedrick ‘Red’ Cox (Sparkman award winner) and Xander Lee (Offensive MVP).

The WCHS football team said its final goodbyes to the 51st version of the Pioneers Sunday with a banquet. Coach Matt Turner and his staff handed out end-of-season awards to members of the freshmen and varsity squads.