By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Nurserymen dig up awards
Placeholder Image
Tennessee Nursery and Landscape Association introduced its new board of directors at its 2012 Winter Education Program held in Pigeon Forge.Michael Kassees with Forest Nursery is the incoming board president.The board features two other local representatives in Tony Graham of Oak Brook Farms in Morrison, who was elected third vice president, and Randall Walker of Randall Walker Farms in Morrison, who remains secretary-treasurer.Ten award winners were recognized during the annual awards luncheon last month, including several local recipients.Steve Bennett of Riverbend Nurseries in Thompson’s Station, received the 2012 Wholesale Nurseryman of the Year. He is a former Warren County resident.Jimmy Barnes of Heritage Farms in Morrison was honored as Young Nursery Professional of the Year. Eric Walker of Walker Nursery Company & Walker Gardens, was recognized as Committee Chair of the Year for his legislative work.Hall of Fame winners include Michael Hobbs, Trudie Hayes and Sandy Reed.