By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Warren County to lose Bricken in redistricting
Rush Bricken.jpg

Warren County is no longer a county divided – at least when it comes to the Tennessee House of Representatives.

For decades, Warren County has been split into two House districts, but that will change with redistricting plans that have passed the Tennessee General Assembly and now await the signature of Gov. Bill Lee to take effect.

Under the new plan, Warren County is only in House District 43, which is currently represented by Sparta resident Paul Sherrell. District 43 now includes all of Warren and White counties.

Previously, District 43 had included about two-thirds of Warren County, and all of White and Grundy counties.

The other onethird of Warren County was previously included in District 47 with all of Coffee County. Now District 47 is all of Coffee and Grundy counties. It is represented by Rush Bricken.

“I’ve done a lot of networking in Warren County and gotten to know a lot of the people there so it will be sad to lose Warren County,” said Bricken. “I’ll be losing Warren County but gaining Grundy County and I look forward to getting to know the people there.” The new districts will take effect after new representatives are elected in November. Bricken stressed he will serve Warren County for the rest of this term.

“I still have Warren County until the election in November and I will continue to have a visible presence there whenever possible,” said Bricken, who resides in Tullahoma.

Tennessee Senate District 16 still includes Warren County with Janice Bowling as the current state senator. The district adds two counties, DeKalb and Lincoln, and loses three counties, Van Buren, Sequatchie and Marion.

In Congress, Warren County remains in U.S. House District 4. Marion County also stays in District 4, which means Jasper resident Scott DesJarlais will continue to be our congressional representative. DesJarlais is in the middle of his sixth term.