By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Sue Anderson gets third term as Morrison Mayor
Sue Anderson talks.jpg
Sue Anderson will get a third term as Morrison Mayor as no one qualified to run against her. The deadline was Thursday at noon.

Qualifying for municipal elections ended Thursday and Sue Anderson will return as mayor of Morrison after not getting opposition.

“It’s an honor to represent the town of Morrison,” said Anderson of getting a third term. “I’m fortunate to be able to do it. There are a lot of good people in this community and I’m proud to be part of it.” 

Also running uncontested as Morrison aldermen are Donald L. Miller and his wife, Jeannine M. Miller. Longtime Morrison alderman Joe Hefner decided not to seek reelection.

Seats on the McMinnville Board of Mayor and Aldermen will be challenged as six people are vying for three seats.

Incumbents Everett Brock and Steve Harvey will face newcomers Larry York, Jeremy Richardson, Deitra Dunlap and Keri Curtis Morton.

McMinnville officials don’t run in districts. The three top vote-getters of the six will be seated as aldermen.

The chance to seek office has now passed for the Nov. 8 election. However, residents can still register to vote.

Key dates: 

• Voter registration deadline is Oct. 11. 

• Early voting runs Oct. 19 to Nov. 3.

• Absentee ballots can be requested through Nov. 1.

Certification of voting was held Thursday morning for the Aug. 4 county elections.

“We had two provisional ballots that were countable,” said election administrator Susie Davenport. “That did increase a couple of races by two here or one there, but it did not change the outcomes of any races.” 

Municipal candidates have until Aug. 25 at noon to withdraw. A request to be removed must be submitted in writing. Once Aug. 25 passes, the field is set.