By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Smoot honored as Teacher of the Year
Ruritan awards.jpg
Taylor Smoot, center, has been named Morrison Ruritan’s Teacher of the Year. During the organization’s annual banquet, five recognitions were made. Also pictured is Morrison School principal Kim Cantrell and Ruritan president Wes Williams.

Morrison Ruritan has selected Taylor Smoot as its Teacher of the Year. 

“I’d like to thank Morrison Ruritan for this recognition,” said Smoot. “I appreciate Morrison Ruritan, all of my students, their parents and the community I get to work in and call home.”

She has been with Morrison School for three years. The 2019-20 year is her fourth. 

“I teach first grade,” said Smoot. “I was raised in Morrison and I actually went to Morrison Elementary as a child. This community is very special to me. I’m excited to help my community grow and get to see students learn. It’s a blessing.”

Smoot was among a list of five acknowledgements made during the organization’s ceremony. 

Top Female Student of the Year went to Deisis Perez-Guzman, while Top Male Students of the Year went to Will Davis. These awards recognize the top female and male student for their academic excellence during their eighth-grade year at Morrison.

Warren County High School graduate Ana Maria Torres Martinez received Morrison Ruritan’s scholarship of $600. Mya Hodges received a second scholarship of $500.