By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
School Board members honored for continued education
All six Warren County School Board members and Director of Schools Bobby Cox were in attendance Tuesday during a fall conference in Cookeville. Pictured, from left, are Cox, Teddy Jones, Tanya Bess, Helen Martin, Linda Blair, James Bennett, Tennessee School Board Association executive director Dr. Tammy Grissom, and Bill Zechman.

Three local School Board members have been honored for furthering their educational training.
Tanya Bess has been recognized with Level IV accreditation, Helen Martin earned Level III distinction, while James Bennett achieved Level II status.
The awards were presented Tuesday during the Tennessee School Boards Association fall district meeting Tuesday at Cookeville High School. Level V is the top status, but it is only awarded during the annual convention in November.
Director of Schools Bobby Cox noted all six Warren County School Board members were in attendance, giving our area 100 percent participation.
The meeting is a way to connect educational leaders from all parts of the state to hear concerns, share ideas, and provide support.
Participants completed a survey where they expressed their positions on issues for the upcoming General Assembly and learned how they can more effectively advocate for Tennessee’s public schools with the new TSBA On the Hill mobile app.