By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Conservation District names Simpsons Farmers of the Year
Soil Conservation award.jpg
Warren County Soil Conservation District held its annual luncheon to recognize the 2018 Farmer of the Year. This year’s award went to siblings Michael and Casey Simpson. The brothers own several farms and work closely with the district. Pictured, from left, are Soil Conservation District president Gary Martin, Michael, Casey, and district secretary/ treasurer Mike Bouldin. - photo by Lisa Hobbs

Warren County farmers Michael Simpson and Casey Simpson have been named 2018 Conservation Farmers of the Year.

“Thank you,” said Michael.

Casey added, “We appreciate it.”

The siblings own several farms from Viola to Bone Cave that they use for backgrounding, a beef production system that involves maximum use of pasture and feeds from the time calves are weaned until they are placed in a feedlot.

“Michael and Casey have been working with the Soil Conservation District over the past several years,” said Mike Bouldin, district secretary/ treasurer. “The brothers have utilized programs offered through the district to install thousands of feet of exclusion fence, waterline and several frost-free watering systems.”

The brothers were chosen for their willingness to partner with the Natural Resources Conservation Service and the Warren County Soil Conservation District.

“It shows they value the land that they have been entrusted with, land that will hopefully someday be passed on to the next generation,” said Bouldin. 

“Congratulations to both families and thank you for your willingness to be good stewards of the land.”

Michael is married to Stacey and they have four children: Hailey, Carter, Luke and Kinsley.

Casey is married to Leah and they have three children: Case, AnnaLee and KellyGrace.