By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
2018 American Legion delegates chosen
state delegates boys color
Lisa Hobbs photo Boys State delegates and some of their sponsors, front row, from left, are Evening Exchange president Neva England, delegates Samuel Griffin, Ryan Salaman, Ethan Smith, Zachary Keel, and Legion Commander George Patterson. Second row, Breakfast Rotary member Brent Foster, Morrison Ruritan member Lavell Whitehead, delegates Cameron Fults, Rily Majors, Hunter Adams, and American Legion member John Davis. Third row, delegates Gaines Mayfield, Alex Stovall, Jaren Watts, Garrick McGee, Lane Jones (alternate), and Brooks Helton. Not pictured is alternate Tristain Boles.
American Legion Boys and Girls State delegates have been selected for 2018. Boys and Girls State are premier programs for teaching how government works, while developing leadership skills and an appreciation of the rights and responsibilities of citizenship. Delegates from across the state will be involved in a summer program that allows them to run for office, learn public speaking, draft and debate legislation, and actively participate in all phases of creating and running a working government.