By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Haslam proclaims School Board Appreciation Week
Members of the Warren County Board of Education are, front row, from left, Linda Blair, Tanya Bess, James Bennett, and Helen Martin. Back row, Scott Holmes, Bill Zechman and Director of Schools Bobby Cox.

This is School Board Appreciation Week across the state as Gov. Bill Haslam has proclaimed the week of Jan. 24-30 as a time to celebrate the accomplishments of school boards across Tennessee.
The governor set aside this week to help build awareness and understanding of the vital functions locally elected boards of education play in our community. Warren County Schools is joining public school districts from across the state to observe the week and honor local board members for their commitment to Warren County and its children.
“Our school system is the backbone of our community, and these men and women devote countless hours to making sure our schools are helping every child,” Director of Schools Bobby Cox said. “They spend countless hours studying the issues and regulations and make the tough decisions when called upon to ensure the type of accountability people expect.”
Cox said the key work of school boards is to raise student achievement by:
• creating a vision for what the community wants the school district to be and for making student achievement the top priority
• establishing standards for what students will be expected to learn
• ensuring progress is measured and students are learning at expected levels
• being accountable for their decisions and actions
• creating a safe, orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach
• forming partnerships with others in the community to solve common problems
• focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement by questioning, refining and revising issues related to student achievement.
 “Our local School Board gives the Warren County citizens a voice in the education decision making process. Their contribution is a year-round commitment.”
The current Board of Education includes Tonya Bess, three years; Linda Blair, five years; Helen Martin, one year; James Bennett, one year; Scott Holmes, seven years and Bill Zechman, seven years.