By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Eight in running for three alderman seats
Placeholder Image
Eight candidates will vie for three McMinnville alderman spots being vacated by the incumbents, all of whom have decided not to seek reelection.The qualifying deadline was at noon Thursday. The candidates who will seek election Nov. 4 include one former alderman, Everett Brock, and seven new hopefuls including Linda Holland, Ben Foust, Billy Tanner, Ryle Chastain, John Douglas, David H. Hill and Steve Harvey.The three top vote-getters in November will join Mike Neal, Jimmy Bonner, Ben Newman and Mayor Jimmy Haley on the board.While the eight will begin their campaigns with high hopes, one of the departing incumbents wants to warn the three future aldermen about the job.“I wish them luck. I really do,” said multi-term Alderman Billy Wood, who says he is happy to bid farewell to the city board given the controversy that has surrounded the body for the past several years.