By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Education Notes
Placeholder Image
East Tennessee State University has announced the names of students who attained a GPA qualifying them for inclusion in the dean’s list for the fall 2011 session. To receive this honor, students must successfully complete a minimum of 12 hours of undergraduate course work with a GPA of at least 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.Those students from Warren County are Ethan M. Odineal, Alana K. Bigford, Amber N. Hale, and Kristen Surles.Memphis announcesfall dean’s listMcMinnville residents Kelly L. Burns, Bethany Webb and Mari K. Webb were named to the dean’s list at the University of Memphis for the fall 2011 semester.Students on the list met one of the following criteria for the semester: completion of six to eight graded hours with a semester GPA of 4.0, completion of nine to 11 graded hours with a minimum GPA of 3.66, or completion of 12 or more graded hours with a semester GPA of 3.5 or above.MTSU releasesfall dean’s listMiddle Tennessee State University has released its dean’s list for the fall 2011 semester. To qualify for the MTSU dean’s list, a student must maintain a current semester GPA of 3.5 or above and earn at least 12 semester hours.Local students making the dean’s list are Daniel A. Aune, Benjamin Heath Biles, Aaron Edward Boles, Kala Marie Boles, Haley Lauren Bouldin, Amy Diane Boyd, Lori Paige Boyd, Michael Craig Boyd, Hayley Rae Bratcher, Lisa D Burks, Andrew Martin Carrigan, Chenda Chan, Anastasia Nicole Chisam, Emaly Mae Cox, Taylor Rae Davis, Brent Nathaniel Day, Jessica L. Elkins, Wesley Daniel Foster, Tammy Renee Foust, Tyler S. Gilley, Patrick L. Harvey, Aleesha Dawn Hillis, Aaren LaShea Holmes, Amy Elizabeth Hutton, Rebecca S. Jewell, Crystal Leigh Kiefer, Jenna Nichole Mayfield, Matthew T. McColloch, Sasha Nichole McCormick, Jessica K. Mullican, Marcy A. Mullican, Ridge Holden Nunley, Brett A. Patterson, Paige Elaine Potter, Martha Virginia Prater, Shelby Leigh Rehberger, Mykyta O. Shokur, Bradley Scott Steg, Curtis LaDale Strode, Kaitom LaShae Tanner, Andrew Thomas Vance, Olivia S. Youngblood, and Oslin S. YoungbloodMTSU announcesfall graduatesMiddle Tennessee State University has released the names of those students who graduated during the fall 2011 commencement ceremony on Saturday, Dec. 18, in Murphy Center on the MTSU campus.Of the 1,656 who graduated during the university’s 102nd fall commencement, 1,388 were undergraduates, including 248 master’s candidates, 14 education-specialist recipients, and three doctoral candidates.Local students who graduated are Aaron E. Boles, Robert B. Edwards, Galon G. Hildreth, Amy N. Jones, Crystal L. Kiefer, Stephanie C. Pate, Linda K. Reynolds Harper, Michael I. Slatton, Kelley N. Thompson, and Brent W. Whitlock.