By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Bob Young appointed to County Commission
He will fill vacant 7th District seat
Placeholder Image

Bob Young has been elected by the full Warren County Commission to fill the 7th District Commissioner seat left vacant due to the resignation of Johnnie Belle Bouldin. Young will fill the seat until a new commissioner is elected in August.
County Executive John Pelham opened the floor for nominations to fill Bouldin’s seat during the full commission meeting Monday night.
Young was nominated by Commissioner Kenneth Rogers, who serves the 7th District. Commissioner Blaine Wilcher nominated Col. Thomas B. Vaughn. Young and Vaughn were the only nominees for the vacant seat.
To be elected, one of the men had to garner 12 votes which would be the majority of the 23-member commission.
Only 20 commissioners were in attendance as Commissioners Sally Brock, Ron Lee and Bessie Smithson were absent.
Young was easily elected in what could possibly be considered a landslide vote. He received 17 yes votes and 3 no votes. Voting no for Young were Commissioners Joel Akers, Gary Prater and Blaine Wilcher.
Vaughn received three yes votes and 16 no votes. The same commissioners who voted no for Young voted yes for Vaughn. Commissioner Les Trotman abstained from voting for Vaughn but voted yes for Young.
Prior to the vote, both Young and Vaughn addressed the court.
Young said, “I’ve known Mr. and Mrs. Bouldin for years. They were both personal friends of mine. It would be an honor to serve the rest of Johnnie Belle’s term. I have served on the Warren County School Board and I taught school for several years. I will serve on this commission to the best of my ability.”
Vaughn said, “I lived in the county of Warren for 28 years. I served active duty in the United States Army. I taught at Motlow and MTSU and taught a selective session at Tennessee Technological University. I am very interested in what most of you are interested in: jobs, education, the environment and attracting jobs to Warren County. I will work to do my best on behalf of Warren County.”
Bouldin was nominated and elected in November 2013 by the full commission to fill the seat left vacant following the death of her husband, M.A. Bouldin, who died in October 2013.
Bouldin was to retain her husband’s seat until the county election Aug. 7. However, Bouldin moved out of her district and resigned April 4.
State statute dictated any seat that will be vacant for more than 120 days should be filled. Bouldin’s seat would have been vacant for 121 days according to the date of her resignation and the time commissioners received notification of it.
Rogers and Pelham both said previously they did not believe it would be fair to nominate someone to the position whose name is on the ballot for election in August because that would possibly give that person an unfair advantage over other candidates.
Running for the office of District 7 County Commissioner are Democrats Gary C. Martin and Tommy Savage, and independents Terra Jaco, Susan C. Rogers and Jason Satterwhite.
Two new commissioners will be elected in that district since current Commissioner Kenneth Rogers is on the ballot to run for county executive.