By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
WCMS wins CTC Tournament title
The WCMS 2017 CTC championship team members are, front row, from left, Dawson Waldron, Alec Hobbs, Ben Rivers, Ryland Holder, Ty Martin, John Garrett and Bryson Elrod. Second row, coach Chad Young, Omari Harris, Wyatt Wilson, Jace Brantley, Kason Holder, Braden Bottoms, Gage Smith, Westen Wilson, coach Travis Wilson and coach Chase McGee.

Almost burning the midnight oil, the WCMS baseball team played a late game Monday night playing host to the Tullahoma Wildcats for the CTC Tournament championship.
After 7 innings, the Pioneers were victorious becoming the 2017 champions, 9-4.
“It has been a great blessing and I thank the good Lord for being part of such a tremendous group of coaches and players,” said WCMS coach Chad Young. “These guys have put a lot of blood, sweat and time in the past two years. They have worked hard and now they get to enjoy the fruits of their labor. This group of players have the God-given talent to play baseball. They are not only tremendous athletes, but they are great young men.”
“The next few years will be a very exciting time for Warren County baseball,” Young said. “I would like to personally thank coach Travis Wilson and coach Chase McGee for the hundreds of hours they sacrificed to help this organization be successful. I could not have asked for two better coaches.”
The Wildcats struck first, leading 1-0 after the top of the first, but it didn’t stand for long as WCMS scored 5 runs in the bottom of the inning with a steady stream of hits and runs.
Omari Harris had first at-bat for the Pioneers and was walked to first. A single by Wyatt Wilson put another runner on and Harris scored off a past ball, 1-1.
A Westen Wilson single scored Wyatt Wilson, 2-1. The Pioneers added two more after a past ball and an error by the Wildcats, 4-1, and Ryland Holder took first after getting hit by a pitch.
The Pioneers got one more across as Westen Wilson stole two bases then took home on another Tullahoma miscue before ending the inning, 5-1.
Tullahoma then went three-and-out in the top of the second, and Warren County put one more on the board after Harris scored on a sacrifice fly by Wyatt Wilson, 6-1.
The Wildcats had an offensive drive going in the third having bases loaded, but the Pioneer D held tight and a fly out and two strikeouts by pitcher Harris put the Wildcats back in the field only scoring 1 run, 6-2.
The Pioneers added one more in the fourth after a Harris double, a Wyatt Wilson single, and a single by Kason Holder scored Harris, 7-2.
Putting some icing on the cake, WCMS tacked on two with bases loaded before the Wildcats retired the inning.
Tullahoma knew it was in serious trouble in the top of the seventh, and loaded the bases but a stout defense by the Pioneers in the field put the next three batters out at first to end the ballgame and secure the championship trophy.
Championship Game by the numbers:
Winning pitcher – Omari Harris – 3 1/3 innings, 2 runs, 6 hits, 7 strikeouts
Also pitched – Westen Wilson – 3 2/3 innings, 2 runs, 2 hits, 3 strikeouts
Hit leaders: Omari Harris 2-for-3, Wyatt Wilson 1-for-3, 2 RBIs, Kason Holder 2-for-3, 2 RBIs, Westen Wilson, 1-for-2, 1 RBI, Braden Bottoms 1-for-3, Ty Martin 2-for-4 and Jace Brantley 1-for-3.