By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Over 200 runners compete in Stars and Stripes Fun Run
Placeholder Image
Over 200 runners decided the best way to beat the heat July 4 was to generate their own breeze by taking part in the 31st annual Star and Stripes Fun Run in downtown McMinnville.A large crowd gathered at 7:30 a.m. to participate in the 5K run and walk, along with a few individuals opting to take the shorter one-mile path.Facing a challenging new course, local resident Jason McVey won the coveted Danny Stubblefield Memorial Trophy by finishing the race in 16 minutes, 57 seconds. Reilly Caten was the top overall female finisher, completing the 3.2-mile run in 22:43. Chaz Miller received the trophy for the top male finisher, running the course in 17:35.The Masters division, which included all runners over 40, was won by Robert Davis with a time of 18:05 and Leslie Hoover, who finished in 23:58.McVey stopped a two-year win streak for Jacob Carrigan, a Nashville resident who did not compete in this year’s event.McVey cruised to victory by turning in a blazing time on the new path.