By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New crew
Placeholder Image
Coach Erick Baird has done away with a junior-varsity team and an added emphasis will be placed on developing a talented group of freshmen girls.Coach Baird listed his 10-player freshmen team Tuesday which features players who played at Warren County Middle School, Dibrell, Eastside, Irving College and Centertown last season.Drawing from the seven middle schools in Warren County, coach Baird added 10 girls he thinks can help the Lady Pioneers in District 6-AAA in both freshmen and varsity competition.“We’ve got a talented group of girls,” said Baird. “These girls will have an opportunity to earn playing time on both our squads next season.“We’ve never been shy about playing freshmen on varsity if they prove they can handle the competition.”Saydee Winfree, Allison Hitchcock, Lexi Rowland, Lindsey Cox and Kristen Rowland join the team after finishing third in the Central Tennessee Conference as part of the WCMS Lady Pioneers.Olivia Ming was a standout for Eastside last season, while Marlee Smith earned all-county honors at Dibrell. Eastside and Dibrell finished tied for the regular-season title in the Warren County Elementary league.Andi Reed moves up after playing last season at Irving College and Sammye Jo Medley will trade in her Centertown Lady Warrior uniform for a Lady Pioneer jersey.Regan Harlow rounds out the Warren County freshmen roster.Last season, District 6-AAA changed the format of its freshmen games, allowing teams to add sophomores to the lineup.Last week, coach Baird announced his 12-player varsity roster and included four extra sophomores who will play with the freshmen team.The sophomores who will join the 10 freshmen are Samantha Howard, Abbie McGowan, Haley Jennings and Emily Scott.The Lady Pioneers will spend the weekend playing in the Summer Sun Drop Shootout, which will be held at Warren County High School, Warren County Middle School and Bobby Ray Elementary.Games are scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. tomorrow and run until 7 p.m.