By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
ON THIS DAY - April 9
1975 - Levi Strauss.jpeg

Basketball fans throughout Warren County know the name Charlie Dalton. The WCHS gym is named after the legendary coach.

On April 9, 1975, Dalton was in the Southern Standard as he led Levi Strauss to a women’s championship in the Warren County industrial league. Dalton was posthumously inducted into the Warren County sports Hall of Fame in 2018.

The Dr Pepper Classic used to be an early April tradition, as evidenced by the Standard's front pages in 2000 and 2006. In 2000, John Cooper was diving head first into third base for the Pioneers. The 2006 Warren County baseball team had better luck in the tournament, winning all four games.

In other April 9 editions, Barry Panter and Eddie Hennessee were pitching for the Pioneers (1973), Pioneer pitchers were having a tough time at home plate (1980), the WCSH softball team beat Riverdale and posed for a team picture (1986),  local tennis teams struggled on the court (1993), Charlie Clarke bashed a grand slam for the Pioneers (1995), Josh Mullins threw a no-hitter against Sequatchie County (2006), WCHS tennis took home a pair of victories (2010), WCMS soccer picked up an eighth-grade night win (2014) and archer Austin Evans won a state tournament (2017).

Famous April 9 birthdays

1907 – Ebbie Goodfellow, NHL Hall of Famer

1909 – Claude Passeau, five-time MLB all-star

1928 – Paul Arizin, NBA Hall of famer

1946 – Nate Colbert, three-time MLB all-star

1957 – Seve Ballesteros, Five-time PGA major winner

1966 – Bo Kimble, NBA top-10 pick from Loyola Marymount

Bo Kimble.jpg

1987 – Graham Gano, Pro Bowl kicker

National April 9 headlines


1946 — The Montreal Canadiens beat the Boston Bruins 6-3 to win the Stanley Cup in five games.

1947 — Leo Durocher, manager of the Brooklyn Dodgers, is suspended for one year by Commissioner A.B. "Happy" Chandler for "conduct detrimental to baseball." Durocher is linked to gambling interests.

1950 — Jimmy Demaret wins his third Masters, by two strokes over Jim Ferrier.

1962 — Arnold Palmer wins a three-way playoff, beating Gary Player and Dow Finsterwald in the Masters.

1978 — Gary Player shoots a final-round 64 to win his third Masters, edging Hubert Green, Rod Funseth and defending champion Tom Watson by a shot.

1978 — Denver's David Thompson, battling San Antonio's George Gervin for the NBA season scoring title, scores 73 points against the Detroit Pistons. It's the third-highest total in an NBA game. Gervin, not to be outdone, later scores 63 against the New Orleans Jazz. It's just enough to give Gervin the scoring crown, 27.22 points per game to Thompson's 27.15, the tightest 1-2 finish.

Nick Faldo.jpg
1989 — Britain's Nick Faldo makes a 25-foot birdie putt on the second hole of a sudden-death playoff to win the Masters. Runner-up Scott Hoch missed a 2-foot putt for par on the first hole of the playoff that would have given him the title.

1993 — The Pittsburgh Penguins beat the New York Rangers 10-4 for their 16th straight win to break the NHL record of 15 held by the New York Islanders.

2000 — Vijay Singh of Fiji wins the Masters, closing with a 3-under 69 for a three-stroke victory over Ernie Els.

2001 — Australia sets a record for the most one-sided international win in FIFA history, beating Tonga 22-0 in an Oceania Group One qualifying match for the 2002 World Cup.

2005 — The United States beats Canada 3-1 in a penalty shootout after a scoreless regulation and 20-minute overtime to win the Women's World Hockey Championship. The win ends the defending champions' run of eight straight titles.

2008 — Colorado captain Joe Sakic scores his NHL-record eighth career playoff overtime goal in a 3-2 win over Minnesota in the opener of the Rockies' first-round series.

2011 — Kyle Schmidt scores 3:22 into overtime to lift Minnesota Duluth to a 3-2 victory over Michigan in the NCAA men's ice hockey championship game, the first national title for the Bulldogs.

2013 — Freshman Breanna Stewart scores 23 points and Connecticut wins its eighth national championship with a record 93-60 rout of Louisville. The victory ties Geno Auriemma and the Huskies with Pat Summitt and Tennessee for the most titles in women's basketball history. It's the most lopsided victory in a championship game.