By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Wells makes changes to committees
Placeholder Image
County government committees will have a new look if changes proposed by new County Executive Herschell Wells are adopted by the Warren County Commission this Monday night.Each of the 10 new commissioners elected in August received assignment to at least one committee. No new commissioners were named as chairmen.The Budget and Finance, Economic and Agricultural Development, Education, Health and Welfare, and Jail Oversight committees all have new chairmen.The makeup of county committees is important because that’s where the majority of discussion about county issues takes place. The full County Commission then has final say on measures that come out of committee.Committee chairmen are: Budget and Finance, Terry Bell; Building and Grounds, Carl E. Bouldin; Economic and Agricultural Development, Ron Lee; Education, Diane Starkey; Health and Welfare, Michael Martin; Highway and Bridge, Gary Prater; Jail Oversight, Morris Bond; Policy and Personnel, Ken Martin; Safety and Beer Board, Teddy Boyd.Terry Bell was selected as the new Chairman Pro Tem and Ron Lee was selected Parliamentarian.