By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
County approves record allocations
county allocation to nonprofits.jpg
The Warren County A&L Fair will receive its annual allocation of $10,000 from Warren County government. That donation was among many approved by commissioners on Monday. Pictured are Sylar Hodges attempting to cover his sister, Ainsley, with corn during last year’s fair. - photo by Lisa Hobbs

Allocations to nonprofits, civic organizations and others for the 2019-20 fiscal year were made during the Warren County Commission’s July session.

With a vote of 20-3, commissioners approved the largest donation in Warren County government history on July 15 with $176,600 being allocated this year among the following groups: 

• Warren County Senior Center $26,000

• Pacesetters $2,000

• Meals on Wheels $10,000

• Chamber of Commerce $25,000

• Main Street McMinnville $2,000

• CHEER Mental Health $4,000

• Retired Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP) $1,100

• Books from Birth $2,500

• Heritage Alliance $2,000

• American Red Cross $6,000

•Volunteer fire departments $56,000 ($8,000 each)

• Emergency Food Bank $3,000

•Sister City Program $5,000

• Families in Crisis $5,000

• Warren County A&L Fair $10,000

• Young Men United $2,000

• Caring Hearts United $1,000

• Citizens for Progress $10,000

• Helping Hands Ministry $2,000

• Upper Cumberland Veterans Cemetery $2,000

Given to nonprofits and civic groups last fiscal year was $132,000. This was an increase of $44,600. 

Not included in that list but also approved were the county’s donations to Magness Library $116,000, E-911 $160,000, Warren County Rescue Squad $28,792, Warren County Chamber of Commerce dues $5,500, and Warren County Soil and Conservation District $6,000. 

Commissioners voting in favor of the donations were Michael Bell, Carl E. Bouldin, Carlene Brown, Randy England, Deborah Evans, Steve Glenn, Richard Grissom, Steven Helton, Robert Hennessee, Lori Judkins, Ron Lee, Gary Martin, Daniel Owens, Gary Prater, Christy Ross, Tommy Savage, Joseph Stotts, Phillip Stout, Cole Taylor and Blaine Wilcher. 

Commissioners Carl D. Bouldin, Tyrone Sparkman and Scott Rubley voted against.