By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Lawmakers reject term limits
Placeholder Image
NASHVILLE (AP) — A Senate panel has rejected a proposed constitutional amendment to limit lawmakers to eight years per chamber of the General Assembly.The measure received only a single supporting vote in the Senate Judiciary Committee, with seven members voting against the resolution sponsored by Republican Sen. Mike Faulk of Kingsport.Faulk said limiting House members to four two-year terms and senators to two four-year terms would “encourage turnover and a fresh set of ideas.” Faulk noted that Tennessee’s governor and the U.S. president are subject to eight-year term limits.