By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Education notes
Placeholder Image

ETSU announces spring dean's list

East Tennessee State University in Johnson City has announced the names of students who attained a GPA qualifying them for inclusion on the dean’s list for the spring 2013 session. To receive this honor, students must successfully complete a minimum of 12 hours of undergraduate coursework with a GPA of at least 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.
Residents from Warren County earning distinction on the dean’s list include: Amber N. Hale, Ethan M. Odineal, Ashley L. Rambo and Michael P. Barnes.

Webb announces honor rolls

The Webb School in Bell Buckle recently announced its A and B honor rolls for the fourth quarter of the 2012-13 school year.
An independent college preparatory day/ boarding school for grades 6-12, The Webb School is the oldest continuously operating school of its kind in the South. The school has a dual emphasis on academic excellence and character development.
The following Warren County residents earned B honor roll status: Levi Wilson, Mitch Owens, Joshua Sizemore, Eli Freeman, Chase Hullett, and Shanna McMahan.
For more information about The Webb School visit

McCoy to attend UT Health Science Center

Lane C. McCoy, son of Tracy and Elizabeth Hillis, has been accepted into the doctorate of physical therapy program at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, where he will begin studies this fall.
He graduated in May from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville where he obtained a bachelor of arts degree in political science with a concentration in pre-physical therapy. While at UT, he was a member of Phi Sigma Theta National Honor Society, and Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity.