By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
County makes board appointments
Placeholder Image

Tuesday was a busy day for the Warren County Commission, as two committees met successively in the afternoon.
The first to meet was the Economic & Agricultural Committee, led by chairman Ron Lee.
The main business was to nominate and approve county representatives to the boards of the Airport Zoning Committee and Airport Commission, Main Street McMinnville, and Tri-County Railroad Authority.
Billy Earl Jones was appointed to the Airport Zoning Committee and Airport Commission. This position was formerly held by Pee Wee Hill, however a current member of the County Court must serve, necessitating the naming of a new board representative.
Said Ron Lee, “Billy Earl Jones has a military background and he knows everybody out there. We need someone who might blend in and carry on from what Pee Wee did.”
Committee members Wayne Copeland, Gary Martin, Gary Prater, and Melissa Yancy voted unanimously to appoint Jones.
The next open position was for a representative on the Main Street McMinnville board. Blaine Wilcher previously served in this position and was reappointed. Lee said, “Blaine Wilcher has been on that board for the last four years. I called Blaine and he said he’d be glad to serve on it again.”
The final appointments were for two county representatives to the Tri-County Railroad Authority. The county executive may take a position himself or make an appointment. Herschel Wells took the option of serving on the board. The other person named to serve was Jana Wilson-Ringmann. Both were approved 4-0.
Finally, the committee received an update on the Warren County Memorial Airport from Airport Commission member Dr. Mike Roberts and airport manager Richard Crawford.
Immediately following the Economic & Agriculture meeting, the Budget & Finance Committee met, headed by chairman Terry Bell.
The first order of business was to approve a resolution to designate forfeiture funds to be deposited into the district attorney’s account at the trustee’s office.
Said finance director Linda Hillis, “This is in regard to forfeiture funds. The county audit recommended that the resolution be passed. It has been passed in the past, but they recommended to pass the resolution again to be safe. For that reason we need a resolution.”
The committee of Carl Edward Bouldin, Ken Martin, Michael Martin, and Diane Starkey voted 4-0 to approve the resolution.
The Budget & Finance Committee also received the same airport update as the Economic & Agriculture Committee.
Finally, a vice chairman was named for the committee, in the event Bell is unable to attend a meeting. Ken Martin was nominated and appointed unanimously.