By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
WCMS track dominates
Johnathan Lira.jpg
Johnathan Lira clears the bar with ease on his way to a high jump victory. The WCMS track teams dominated Franklin South in Thursday's event.

It was a record-setting day for the WCMS track team.

Competing against Franklin North, the Lady Pioneer track team set a pair of school records in relay races. It was the highlight of a night where both WCMS track teams picked up wins against their CTC rivals.

The 4x200 relay record had stood for 15 years before a foursome of Lady Pioneers smashed the mark Thursday. Bailey Bundy, Kyra Perkins, Sable Winfree and Briley Jones ran the event in two minutes, besting the previous best time by three seconds.

The 4x400 record also fell, broken by the same four girls who set the mark last season. Arica Walker, Carmen Verdel, Winfree and Bundy completed the race in four minutes, 50 seconds.

Being part of a school record was just one of the many thrills for Walker. The track star also showed her talent in the long jump and high jump, winning both competitions. Walker cleared a height of four-feet, two inches to narrowly edge teammate Kyra Perkins. Walker also soared 13-3 feet to win the long jump.

Savannah Winfree added to the Lady Pioneer victory by dominating the discus. Savannah’s top toss of 51-6 feet bested the rest of the field by over a foot.

Other winners of individual events included Marissa Walker (800-meter run, 3:10.18), Bundy (the 400, 1:05.92), Perkins (the 200, 29.96 seconds) and Verdel (the 1,600, 6:21).

Along with winning all three relays, the boys team took home six individuals events to easily top Franklin North.

PJ Truax showed his strength by winning both the shot put and discus with throws of 29-5 feet and 85-3 feet, respectively. 

Johnathan Lira and Justus Majors tied atop the high jump standings, each clearing 4-4 feet. Treyton Terry took third at 4-2 feet.

Running winners included Jerren Harris (the 200, 27.03 seconds), Jordan Kloosterman (the 400, 1:15.62) and Lincoln Sain (the 800, 2:52:25).