By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Qualifying ends for County Commission
Placeholder Image

Eight spots on the Warren County Commission have likely been filled before the first button is pushed as there will be no opposition in one-third of the county’s 12 districts.
Saving lots of money on campaign signs this year will be Ronald Lee and David Rhea from the 1st District, Morris Bond and Terry Bell from the 11th District, Teddy Boyd and Blaine Wilcher from the 11th District, and Billy Earl Jones and Charles Morgan from the 6th District. All are unopposed, and with the exception of Rhea are incumbents.
In the 10th District, the question will be settled in May as incumbents Gary Prater and Joel Akers are taking on Carolyn Miller and Cole Taylor in the Democratic Primary with no other opposition in August.
There is no such luck in the 12th District as Kenny Roberts and incumbent Les Trotman will move ahead from the Democratic Primary (the top two vote-getters in primaries advance in County Commission races) to face independents Carl Douglas Bouldin, Greg Bowdoin, Tommy Davenport and John Travis Whitehead. There are two commissioners elected for each district.
In the 2nd District, incumbents Carl E. Bouldin and Diane Starkey will advance as Democrats to face independent Justin Rich and Republican Melissa Moore Hollis.
Third District incumbents Ken Martin and George Smartt will advance as Democrats to meet independent James Crouch and Republican Michael Shane Wilcher.
Democrats Melissa Yancy and Michael Martin will advance as incumbents in the 5th District to take on independents Jerome Dillard and Marlena Lawson and Republican Raymond T. Holland.
There will be no incumbents coming from the 7th District. Taking aim at the empty seats will be Democrats Gary C. Martin and Tommy G. Savage and independents Terra “Tegy” Jaco, Susan C. Rogers and Jason Satterwhite.
There will be no Democratic winner representing the 8th District as independent incumbent Dwight O’Neal will face competition in August from Randy England and Pat Brown and Republican Scott A. Rubley.
The 9th District will see a contested Democratic Primary as incumbent Wayne Copeland will take on Brian D. Caten and Connie Bouldin Patrick in May. The two winners will take on independent Carlene Brown and Republicans Steven D. Helton and Donna Reid.