By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Four vie for 2nd District commission seat

Four have tossed their hats into the ring for the 2nd District Warren County Commissioner position. The deadline passed Wednesday. 

Sommer Walker (I) and Dana Mullican (D) are back in the running. They were third- and fourth -place vote getters during the Aug. 4 General Election. 

Walker received 257 votes, while Mullican received 216.

They are joined in the race by Diane Starkey (I) and Charles Dotson (R). Starkey is a longtime educator and former county commissioner. Dotson, a native of Warren County, is senior pastor at East Sparta Church of God. 

The last chance to seek office has now passed for the Nov. 8 General Election. 

Seats on the McMinnville Board of Mayor and Aldermen will be challenged as six people are vying for three seats.

Incumbents Everett Brock and Steve Harvey will face newcomers Larry York, Jeremy Richardson, Deitra Dunlap and Keri Curtis Morton.

McMinnville officials don’t run in districts. The three top vote-getters of the six will be seated as aldermen.

Also on ballot and running unopposed are Morrison Mayor Sue Anderson and Morrison Aldermen Donald L. Miller and his wife, Jeannine M. Miller. 

The Nov. 8 ballot will also determine state and federal offices. Tennessee governor will top the ballot, along with offices for Tennessee House and United States House. It will also include four Constitutional amendments.