By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Erica Cantrell brings home first place in agriculture
Placeholder Image

Boyd Christian School student Erica Cantrell competed against ninth-graders from all over the state at the Tennessee Beta Convention in Nashville and received first place in Agriculture Division I. 

By winning this division, Cantrell will be competing on the national level at the National Beta Convention in Savannah, Ga., in June. 

Two honored At Freed

Freed-Hardeman University has released the names of students who made the President’s or Dean’s List for fall 2017. Two Warren County students were recognized. To be on the President’s List, a student must be full-time and have a 4.0 GPA. Philip Brock, a sophomore biology major from McMinnville, was named to this list Recognition on the Dean’s List requires full-time status and a minimum GPA of 3.40 for the semester. Britt Myers, a junior accounting major from McMinnville, was named to this list.

Humphrey receives Buchanan Fellowship

Warren County High School senior Robert Humphrey has been awarded MTSU’s most prestigious scholarship, the Buchanan Fellowship.

The award is limited to 20 students each year and is the highest academic award given to an entering freshman at MTSU. Recipients receive a host of special benefits including a full tuition waiver for up to 16 hours guaranteed for four years, special seminars, priority registration, a book allowance, priority consideration for study abroad, and much more.

Humphrey plans to pursue a degree in science and plans to pursue medicine as a career.

The Buchanan Fellowship is named in honor of MTSU's Nobel Prize winning alumnus, Dr. James M. Buchanan, who grew up in rural Rutherford County. Buchanan said he pursued higher education because it was "better than plowing."

Webb School Honor rolls

The Webb School recently announced its A and B honor rolls for the third quarter of the school year.

An independent college preparatory day/boarding school for grades 6-12, The Webb School is the oldest continuously operating school of its kind in the South.

The following Warren County residents earned A Honor Roll status:
London Sullens, Bailey Cavner and Adelia Stanley.

The following Warren County residents earned B Honor Roll status:
Mary Stanley, Isaiah “Spoony” Sizemore and Luke Nafrada.