By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Edwards is a 2019 Tennessee Board of Regents finalist
Motlow librarian original.jpg
Sharon Kay Edwards is a finalist for the SOAR Award, to be determined March 24 in Nashville. She is the librarian on Motlow’s McMinnville campus.

Motlow State McMinnville campus librarian Sharon Kay Edwards has been selected as a finalist for the 2019 Tennessee Board of Regents Statewide Outstanding Achievement & Recognition Staff Excellence Award.

As one of three state finalists, Edwards will compete in the finals on March 24, 2020 at the Doubletree Hotel in downtown Nashville. The winner will be announced the next day at an awards banquet.

“Sharon Kay is very deserving of this special recognition.” said Chris Bryant, Motlow director of libraries. “Her commitment to the students, faculty and staff goes beyond the standard service provided, as she consistently strives to improve services for patrons. She accomplishes this through building personal relationships, advocating for an inclusive environment, and by looking to the future for Motlow libraries, our college, and Tennessee.”

The SOAR Staff Excellence Award’s foremost criterion is an overall excellence in the responsibilities of a staff member’s specific appointment service and/ or professional activity. Service is also recognized on many levels including service to the department, school, college, profession and community. Candidates should be able to demonstrate distinction beyond normal job responsibilities, reflecting excellence in those areas.

Edwards work certainly goes beyond her normal job responsibilities. She is a leading advocate for Tennessee libraries and is in her third year of service as the Tennessee Library Association’s Legislative Monitor and chair of the Legislative Committee. 

This past spring, she received the Making a Difference Award at the 2019 TLA annual conference. The award recognizes efforts to increase awareness of the importance of libraries, especially within state and federal legislative infrastructures, and for her work advocating for increased library funding.