By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Committee assignments met with some adversity
local news.png

Warren County commissioners have their committee assignments.

The full Warren County Commission met Monday and 24-0 approved County Executive Jimmy Haley as Chairman of the Commission.

Immediately following, they voted 22-2 to approve his committee recommendations.

Commissioners Tyrone Sparkman and Scott Rubley voted against the committee assignments.

“Some of the committee assignments made absolutely no sense to me,” said Rubley after the meeting. “We have an Education Committee that has only two commissioners remaining with any experience. One was removed and placed on a new committee. Four of the five on the new list are freshmen commissioners.”

Education Committee members are Carlene Brown, chair, David Dunlap, Deborah Evans, Robert Hennessee and Daniel Owens.

Brown was the only returning commissioner.

Rubley also took issue with changes to the Safety Committee.

“The Safety Committee from the previous administration is a success story. The ambulance service has seen many improvements with reduced spending. That is due to, in my opinion, a Safety Committee that worked diligently to resolve issues, and a new director that has proved to be fiscally responsible and worked well with the committee. Mr. Haley removed people from this and other successful committees with no explanation.”

Haley, prior to the vote, urged commissioners to approve his committee assignments and work as a team for the betterment of Warren County.

Rubley added, “I have heard a lot of talk about teamwork, but when you break up successful teams, that talk appears to be political rhetoric rather than a true game plan.”

Commissioners appointed onto the county’s Financial Management Committee are Rubley, Richard Grissom, Gary Martin, and Tommy Savage. The committee has seven members including county executive, road superintendent and director of schools as standing members.

With all committee’s set, commissioners can now begin conducting county government business.