By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
County relaxes term limits
Placeholder Image
Industrial Development Board members Greg Brock and Jeff Golden jumped another hurdle Monday night in their quest to stay seated on the IDB for another six-year term.A resolution granting longer terms for members serving on five county boards passed the full Warren County Commission. The motion to change the term limits did not receive a second during a county Policy and Personnel Committee meeting earlier in the month, but was brought before the court Monday night by Commissioner Wayne Copeland.Needing 13 votes to pass, the measure passed 14-7.The resolution will extend term limits from one term to two terms affecting the Industrial Development Board, and three separate boards related to the airport – the Airport Zoning Committee, the Airport Commission, and the Airport Board of Zoning Appeals.The resolution also calls for term limits on the Board of Equalization to be set at four terms. Each term on that board is for two years.The new resolution will do away with a resolution that was passed in February preventing appointees to the five county boards from serving more than one term.The man who spearheaded the original resolution, Commissioner Dwight O’Neal, voted in favor of the new measure Monday night.