By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
County finalizes Audit Committee
Placeholder Image
Members of the Warren County Commission met Monday night and approved names of members who will form the new county Audit Committee.Danny Martin and Commissioner Ken Martin, both employees of Security Federal Savings Bank, Wayne Cantrell and Emily Horton, both certified public accountants, and Commissioner George Smartt, who is a Perdue chicken farmer as well as a physical science teacher at Warren County High School, will form the committee which has been established upon recommendation by the state Comptroller’s Office and the Government Finance Officers Association.Beginning this year, any county which does not have an Audit Committee will be ineligible to receive Three Star grant funding. Committee members will review the county’s annual audit and consult with the external auditors if irregularities are found.Cantrell, Horton and Danny Martin will serve on the committee for four-year terms. Commissioners Martin and Smartt will serve for two-years initially.