By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Boys, Girls State delegates selected
Placeholder Image

American Legion Boys and Girls State Delegates have been selected for 2015.
Boys and Girls State are the premier programs for teaching how government works, while developing leadership skills and an appreciation of the rights and responsibilities of citizenship. From May 24-30, delegates from across the state will be involved in an exciting summer program that allows them to run for office, learn public speaking, draft and debate legislation, and actively participate in all phases of creating and running a working government.
Boys State Delegates are: Jacob Mathew Baehman, Liam Bradford Brock, Joe Thomas Cantrell, Charles Paul Hale, Joseph Issac Hitchcock, Grant Austin Walker, Nathaniel Blake Walker and John S. Rigsby.
Girls State Delegates are: Emma Irenia Holmes, Makayla Renea Stubblefield, Anne Michal Wilcher, Anna Ruth Womack, and Kerri Ann Berenguer. Alternates, or substitutes for any girl who cannot go, are Hannah Nicole Cowan and Madison Paige Weeter.
While the boys trip is paid entirely from the American Legion Post 173 at a cost of $250 per delegate, funding for only one girl (Berenguer) comes from American Legion Ladies Auxiliary Post 173. At $300 per delegate, the remaining girls must be sponsored by a local business or individual. Holmes is sponsored by Noon Rotary, Stubblefield by Lynne Cole, Wilcher by First National Bank, and Womack by Caney Fork Electric.
“We are always looking for businesses, organizations or individuals to sponsor one of the girls,” said LTC (R) Bruce Gipson, Boys and Girls State coordinator at Warren County High School. “We appreciate this year’s sponsors. This program is a very prestigious and respected educational program of government instruction in our nation. It’s a once-in-a-lifetime experience for the girls, as well as the boys.”
If anyone would like to sponsor one of the girls for next year’s program, contact Gipson at 668-5858. He is also the senior Army instructor for the school’s JROTC program.
All delegates must have completed their junior year of high school and have at least one semester of high school remaining to be eligible to participate. To be chosen, the students must exhibit the following characteristics: high moral character, outstanding leadership qualities, academic excellence, interested in government, community participation, and willingness to participate in program activities.
The 2015 girls program is offered on the campus of Lipscomb University in Nashville, while the 2015 boys program is offered on the campus of Tennessee Tech in Cookeville.