By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
New coach, same school spirit
Elam to lead high school cheerleaders
Placeholder Image

For the first time in over a decade, the Warren County High School cheerleading team will be under the direction of somebody other than Monty Hillis.
Stacey Elam is the new cheerleading coach as she assumed the role in the spring and has led the squad this summer.
Elam, along with assistants Wesley Hillis and Laura Lippe, are hopeful to continue the long tradition of keeping the WCHS cheerleading team among the best in the state.
The cheerleading team claimed second place in a state tournament last season.
With 19 girls, coach Elam has a team that has worked hard this summer and will make supporting the school’s athletic program its No. 1 goal.
“The girls have been practicing all summer to perfect their cheers, band dances, stunts and gymnastic skills,” said Elam. “The girls’ main focus this year is to promote school spirit and to be our teams’ biggest supporters.”
The cheerleading team, which includes just one senior in Graylin Brock, got an early workout this summer when the group attended a private camp at Premier Athletics in Murfreesboro.
The WCHS cheerleaders are excited to make their debut this Saturday at the Boys 2 Men football event at Nunley Stadium.
The all-day football event, which begins at noon, includes a pep rally scheduled to start at 5 p.m. The cheerleaders will be front and center leading fans in chants to support the Pioneers.
The cheerleaders will also have a booth set up for fans wishing to purchase season tickets and parking passes. Season tickets will be on sale for $30 per person while a parking pass will cost $25.
The cheerleading team includes, Brock, Lakin Nunley, Ginny Hodges, Lauren Judkins, Mary Kate Simerly, Brittni Redmon, Becca Partain, Savannah Kelley, Allie Golden, Kievan Woods, Anna Womack, Alexis Crouch, Madison Taylor, Kaylee Hillis, Savannah Bryan, Samantha Young, Juliana Hallowy, Kansas Redman, Calista Vinson and Pioneer Jake Trevor Moore.