By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Lady Pioneers dominate on eighth grade night
WCMS softball celebrated eighth grade night at home Wednesday. Pictured are eighth grade members of the team, from left, Calyn Damon, Savannah Cox, Anniston McBride and MaKenna Mason. The Lady Pioneers won the game 11-0 against Franklin North.

The Warren County Middle School Lady Pioneer softball team, coming off a loss to Franklin North on the road Tuesday, celebrated its eighth grade night with a victory over the same Franklin North team on Wednesday, 11-0, in four innings.
The Lady Pioneers avenged Tuesday’s loss with timely hitting and a huge six-run second inning, to help them pull away from Franklin North, sending their record to 10-2 on the season. Elia Atterson led the Lady Pioneers at the plate, going 3-for-3 with two doubles, a single and two RBI.
Calyn Damon was dominant on the mound, going four strong innings, allowing no runs and striking out three Franklin North batters. Franklin North failed to score a run in the top of the first inning and the Lady Pioneers made them pay in the bottom of the inning.
Rhealee Johnson’s RBI single, scoring Atterson, put the Lady Pioneers up, 1-0. Johnson scored later in the inning on an error by Franklin North, 2-0, after one.
Savannah Cox got the six-run second inning going with an RBI single, scoring Annaston McBride, 3-0. An RBI double by Atterson, an error, and multiple walks leading to three runs, had the Pioneers up, 8-0, after two.
Franklin North failed to score in the top of the third and the Lady Pioneers added to their lead scoring three runs in the bottom of the inning, 11-0. After a Franklin North single to start the inning Damon put down Franklin North in order in the top of the fourth to win the game on eighth grade night, 11-0.
The Lady Pioneers will be back in action this weekend, when they split into two teams to compete in the MTSCA High Schools and Middle Schools tournament in Columbia. The tournament starts Friday night. Team one will play at 4 and 5 p.m. and team two at 7 and 8 p.m.