By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
ON THIS DAY - April 27
2016 - Winners CTC softball.jpg

Readers of “On This Day” can’t get enough of the 2010s.

In a Twitter poll ran Sunday on @SimmonsSaysWC, last decade got over 40 percent of the votes, making 2010-19 the focal point of this week’s features.

April 27 was a popular day last decade, with five issues featuring a range of topics. In 2016, the WCMS softball team took top honors as it celebrated a CTC championship with a win over Coffee County. It was a sign of things to come at WCHS for the softball program, as some of those 2016 champions would go on to be a part of a regular-season title in 2017, tournament title in 2018 and region championship in 2019. Some of those wins were remembered by Gooby Martin and his players in recent issues of the Standard.

In the same April 27, 2016, edition, the WCMS soccer team was celebrating its fourth straight CTC title with a win over rival Harris, 3-1. Matt Jackson presided over a dynasty at WCMS, something he touched on in a coaching spotlight with the Standard.

2016 - Winners CTC soccer.jpg

In other April 27 editions, action at McMinnville Civic Center was cranking up (2011), WCHS softball took down Cookeville (2012), Lauren Wilkinson signed a softball scholarship (2012), WCHS soccer and softball were each celebrating wins on senior night (2014), WCHS baseball swept Rhea County (2018) and runners were returning to McMinnville after participating in the Boston Marathon (2018).

Just a reminder, ‘On This Day’ decade voting will take place each Sunday on the Warren County Sports Authority Twitter @SimmonsSaysWC. Readers can make their selections on what decade to feature each week (the same decade will not run on back-to-back weeks).

Also, if you want to feature your Warren County athlete in the ‘On This Day’ online feature, send a picture and their age to Please send all submissions by 10 a.m. on the athlete’s birthday.

Lastly, if a business would like to sponsor ‘On This Day’ on a daily, weekly or monthly basis, please contact


Famous April 27 birthdays


1896 – Rogers Hornsby, MLB Hall of Famer

1916 – Enos Slaugher, MLB Hall of Famer

1899 – Leo Diegel, 1928-29 PGC champion

1932 – Charles Adkins, Olympic gold-medal boxer (1952)

1941 – Lee Roy Jordan, Five-time NFL Pro Bowler

Iceman George Gervin.jpg
1952 – George Gervin, NBA Hall of Famer

1990 – Austin Dillon, 2018 Daytona 500 winner

1992 – Keenan Allen, Three-time NFL Pro Bowler

National April 27 headlines (AP)

1956 — Rocky Marciano retires as the undefeated heavyweight boxing champion. He finished with a 49-0 record, including six title defenses and 43 knockouts.

1960 — The Minneapolis Lakers announce that they will relocate to Los Angeles.

1968 — Jimmy Ellis won the world heavyweight boxing title with a 15-round decision over Jerry Quarry in Oakland, Calif. This is the final bout of an eight-man elimination tournament to fill Muhammad Ali’s vacated title.

1994 — Scott Erickson, who allowed the most hits in the majors the previous season, pitched Minnesota’s first no-hitter in 27 years as the Twins beat Milwaukee 6-0.

1994 — Dave Hannan scores 5:43 into the fourth overtime to keep the Buffalo Sabres going in the NHL playoffs with a 1-0 victory over the New Jersey Devils, the sixth-longest game in NHL history.

2001 — Jamal Mashburn of Charlotte sets an NBA playoff record by making all 25 of his free throws during the three-game sweep of Miami. Mashburn is 10-for-10 in Charlotte’s 94-79 victory.

2002 — Derek Lowe pitches a no-hitter against Tampa Bay. Brent Abernathy is the only baserunner Lowe allows in Boston’s 10-0 victory.

2003 — Kevin Millwood pitches his first career no-hitter to lead the Philadelphia Phillies over the San Francisco Giants 1-0.

2007 — Kirk Radomski, a former New York Mets clubhouse employee, pleads guilty to distributing steroids to major league players for a decade and agrees to help baseball’s steroids investigators.

Ashley Force Hood.jpg
2008 — Ashley Force becomes the first woman to win a national Funny Car race. The 25-year-old beats her father, drag racing icon John Force, in the final round of the 28th annual Summit Racing Equipment Southern Nationals to deny him his 1,000 winning round in his 500th NHRA tour event.

2009 — West Virginia State’s Bo Darby hit home runs in five consecutive at-bats over two games, including four in one contest. The sophomore outfielder homers in his first four trips to the plate against Salem International. He also connects in his final at-bat two days earlier against the University of Charleston. Darby homers twice more in the second game of the doubleheader, giving him six for the day with 14 RBIs.

2009 — The Denver Nuggets match the biggest victory in playoff history with their 121-63 rout of New Orleans in Game 4 of their first-round series. The Minneapolis Lakers had the other 58-point postseason victory, beating the St. Louis Hawks 133-75 in 1956. The Hornets record playoff lows in points, field goals made (17), field goals attempted (54), assists (10) and second-half points (24).

2011 — Nathan Horton scores 5:43 into overtime to give the Boston Bruins a 4-3 victory over the Montreal Canadiens in Game 7 of their first-round playoff series. Boston had never won a playoff series after trailing 0-2 in 26 tries.

2011 — Dwayne Roloson makes 36 saves as Tampa Bay completes a big series comeback and eliminates Pittsburgh with a 1-0 win in Game 7. Roloson becomes the second goalie to go 6-0 in elimination games. He allowed only four goals in winning the final three games as the Lightning erased a 3-1 series deficit.

2013 — The Detroit Red Wings make the playoffs for the 22nd straight season after Henrik Zetterberg had two goals and an assist in a 3-0 victory over Dallas. The Red Wings own the longest active playoff streak in major professional sports, six years longer than the NBA’s San Antonio Spurs’ stretch of postseason play.

2014 — Three-time Olympic champion Kerri Walsh wins her record 47th FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour title, teaming with April Ross to beat Brazil’s Juliana Felisberta Silva and Maria Antonelli 21-11, 21-18 in the Fuzhou Open final.

2014 — Lydia Ko birdies the final hole for her third LPGA Tour victory and first as a professional, holding off Stacy Lewis and Jenny Shin in the inaugural Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic. Ko earns $270,000, celebrating on the 18th green three days after celebrating her 17th birthday.