By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Larsen a Presidential Scholar semifinalist
Larsen, semifinalist.jpg
Daniel Larson has been named a semifinalist for the 2022 Presidential Scholars Program.

A Warren County High School co-valedictorian has been named a semifinalist in the 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. 

“I appreciate this recognition,” said Daniel Larsen. “It was a lot of hard work, but it was definitely worth it. As a semifinalist, I’m one more step closer to being in the Presidential Scholars Class of 2022. That would be nice.”

Larsen is among 620 semifinalists selected from over 5,000 candidates expected to graduate from U.S. high schools in 2022. He is one of only 17 selected from Tennessee.

Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Scholars are selected on the basis of their accomplishments in many areas – academic and artistic success, accomplishment in career and technical fields, leadership, strong character and involvement in school and the community.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the president, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. 

In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars.

A distinguished panel of educators reviewed the submissions and selected 620 semifinalists. The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of up to 32 eminent citizens appointed by the President, will select the finalists, and the U.S. Department of Education will announce them in May. 

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2022 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement in late June with an online National Recognition Program.